didisurpriseyou

Ordidyousurpriseme

Meditation is a fascinating mystery

940856_518354294879059_1616065142_n

My day of peace and tranquility at the park was shattered by a woman who stopped briefly to meditate, sending my shallow mind into overdrive regarding the mystery of meditation.   Meditating reminds me of writing, and writing is an internal conversation which propels me faster and farther into discord and confusion.  Not surprisingly, there is something I am missing about this whole concept of meditation.

When the woman ran to a spot in the shade she appeared nervous and apprehensive, she bent over to a 90 degree angle, dropped her arms straight down and held that pose for at least 3 minutes.  My first guess was she had just completed her run, but who ends their run at the park?   She was just about to embark, and her mental state was  the last item to be readied for her run.  With my eyes glued to her, I watched in fascination as nothing happened for  an eternity, and thought to myself that I run to achieve the same mental leveling.  Suddenly she stood up straight and confidently began to run.  Then it struck me, I’m missing a key component of mental well being.

What went on inside her mind for 3 minutes?  Was she thinking about anything?

Was she trying to purge all thought?  Was it a mini motivational session?  Why does the vision of other people in prayer or meditation make me feel so empty and naive?

Fortunately I was more fascinated with whatever she had, versus what I had not.  Surely each person that mediates has a different goal and method for achieving the outcome that justifies continued meditation.  It seems like mental silence and concentration would help you focus on something specific, but not achieve thoughtlessness.  It is a very personal activity, I hope someone will share more with me, I seek to understand without judgment.

One comment on “Meditation is a fascinating mystery

  1. B
    05/28/2013

    When I first began meditating I despised it. I am a control freak and my mind never shuts up. I was so obsessed with trying to control my thoughts. Years later, meditation still isn’t the easiest thing to do, but it comes with practice. The more you try to control or push out your thoughts, the more they sink in. I recommend 5-10 min of light exercise, even just a walk around the block and then some stretching. Whatever feels right and good for you. A calm and stretched body will help you stay focused. Sit on a pillow so your hips are a little above your feet with your back against a wall. This will help your back from getting crampy until sitting up tall feels more comfortable/natural. You can even lie down if you want. Begin by focusing on your breath. Just observe at first without changing. How does your body feel? How do you move with the breath? Take a mental scan. After about a minute let the breath become deeper and longer. Each breath a little deeper than the last. As thoughts come into your mind, as they will, don’t fight it, rather let them pass and try to detach from them, no judgement. Let go. Always come back to the breath. Try to breathe into the deepest part of your lungs, letting the belly and chest fill up and fall naturally. Don’t force it. 10 minutes is a good starting point if you can manage it. Let me know if you have any questions or if it works for you. I promise it gets more relaxing and easier with practice.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 05/25/2013 by and tagged , , , .
