didisurpriseyou

Ordidyousurpriseme

Decaffeinated Coffee a gateway drug?

My daughter keeps asking me for Decaffeinated Coffee with her breakfast, I’m a little apprehensive considering she is 10 years old.

I remember the day that Candy Cigarettes were outlawed and how I thought that was the most ridiculous thing ever. If kids pretend to smoke, it might actually lead to them smoking? More likely they were bound to gain weight from eating so many of those awful tasting candy smokes.

As the father of a 10 year old, who wants to drink decaf coffee, now I worry about the path beyond decaf.
What if she drinks regular Coffee by 11? An espresso addict by 13 and
onwards to the unthinkable, cigarettes!
I can go no further!

My daughter says “I want a warm drink in the morning, that’s not too sweet.”
What about decaf Tea? ” not enough taste” she replies. She insists that decaf tastes great, and it’s not just for show.

It’s a good thing I’m an enabler, and cave in to every request. It’s my conscience that worries me the most.
I can hear my ex-wife, flipping out over Decaf Coffee with my justifications of a harmless drink.

I think way too much, Coffee a problem ? Can you imagine me finding a lighter or cigarettes in her belongings? She’s a straight A kid in school, forget I said anything.

20130614-091538.jpg

4 comments on “Decaffeinated Coffee a gateway drug?

  1. Pingback: The Last Straw | RocNaNo

  2. Kurt Schweitzer
    06/18/2013

    I would worry about finding a Starbucks receipt in her book bag. What a vile habit to develop! She’d do better drinking diet soda. 😉

    • jables1234
      06/18/2013

      Nothing surprises me about a 10 year old going on 20, it’s just that she happens to be my daughter !!!
      Diet soda might even be worse than decaf coffee, nothing is safe so maybe I will just relax and stop worrying – nah.

  3. butimbeautiful
    07/16/2013

    Decaf isn’t that good for me – so my health conscious sisters say anyway. But – don’t think it’ll lead to a life of degradation somehow!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 06/14/2013 by and tagged , , , .
